Education, Science

“I’m not a scientist, but…”

I haven’t talked about politics on this blog before, but in light of the disconcerting anti-science trend that has been on the rise as of late, I think it’s a good time to start.

I recently finished reading a book titled Not a Scientist: How Politicians Mistake, Misrepresent, and Utterly Mangle Science by Dave Levitan. As a science student, I have a deeper understanding of science than the average person, but I am not very politically-literate. I picked up this book hoping to learn about how to identify, evaluate, and debunk the scientific-sounding claims that politicians make.

As I was reading, I worked on an infographic to summarize these various types of claims and what to look for to evaluate them effectively. Dave Levitan’s book has several examples for these claim “types” that really drive home how damaging they are to the public’s understanding and appreciation of science as well as the work of hundreds of thousands of scientists around the world whose efforts have expanded humanity’s knowledge and made the world a better place. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to be able to think critically about what our country’s leaders and officials say on scientific issues. You don’t need a scientific background to learn how to think!

Here is my infographic:

Not a Scientist Infographic


Thanks for reading! Stay tuned for more cool things! :)

Have something to add?

