Education

Esper-what?

Hello!

In my journey to learn new languages, I came across a language that I had never heard of before. What’s more, this language is really easy to learn, and helps with learning foreign languages that are more complicated.

So what language is it?

 

Check out the TEDxTalk presentation below to find out!

I began to learn Esperanto about a week ago, and I have been amazed at how truly easy it is to grasp grammar fundamentals and be able to write sentences. My goal for learning Esperanto is to be able to use it as a learning tool when I begin studying Japanese grammar. How is it possible to use one language as a tool to learn another – that is a lot more complex?

Well:

  • The grammar of Esperanto so straightforward that it can be learned in one hour (at least to people who already understand grammar terminology, e.g. direct objects, prepositions, etc.).
  • In Esperanto, verbs are not conjugated! (e.g. “Mi satas kukon” and “Ili satas kukon” mean “I like cake” and “They like cake,” respectively.)
  • In Esperanto, word order in a sentence does not matter. In other words, a sentence can have any arrangement of subject, object, and verb. English is traditionally a “SVO” language (e.g. In the sentence “I like cake,” the subject is “I,” the verb is “like,” and the object is “cake.”) whereas other languages, such as Japanese, are “SOV” languages.
  • Esperanto was created to be an international language that could place people from all kinds of language backgrounds on the same level. In other words, Esperanto is simple enough in structure but familiar in its vocabulary to allow people from all nationalities to speak to and be understood by one another. (For more background information about Esperanto’s creation, click here!)

For more information about Esperanto, check out the resources below!

Resources:


I hope you enjoyed this post! Stay tuned for more cool things! :)

1 thought on “Esper-what?”

  1. I hope you’ll allow me to add something from my personal experience. I’ve made friends around the world through Esperanto that I would never have been able to communicate with otherwise. . Over recent years I have had guided tours of Berlin, Yerevan, Douala and Milan in this planned language. I have discussed philosophy with a Slovene poet, humour on television with a Bulgarian TV producer. I’ve discussed what life was like in East Berlin before the wall came down and in Armenia when it was a Soviet republic, how to cook perfect spaghetti, the advantages and disadvantages of monarchy, and so on. I recommend it as a very practical way to overcome language barriers.

    Like

Have something to add?

