Education, Sketchnotes

The Only Book You’ll Ever Need to Study

After reading through Stella Cottrell’s incredible book, The Study Skills Handbook, I learned so much about how I learn best and how I can implement strategies to help me study smart, not hard. I found this book at my campus bookstore, and I highly recommend it to all learners – not just college students. Although I’m not a freshman student (and the book is very much freshman-oriented), there were a few chapters with surprisingly useful advice and tips that I felt were relevant for my studies.

With my sketchnoting tools in tow, I decided to take some notes on things I want to try in my academic efforts. I made them in the Penultimate iPad app using my Adonit stylus, and I had a lot of fun using colors and pictures! For your convenience, here are all the images in a single PDF file! (Feel free to share it with students you know!)

After I made these notes, I saw an update for the Penultimate app in the App Store on my tablet. Little did I know that the update would ruin the app’s functionality for me! (I really wish I didn’t update it, but I don’t think there is a way to revert to a previous version.) It now lags horribly with my stylus, and its export functions are more limited and slow to work on my tablet. I am so disappointed with Penultimate – it used to work beautifully, and now it seems that all the developers care about is appearance of the UI instead of functionality. Despite this setback, I have found a new favorite note-taking app for my iPad: Notability! Priced at just $2.99, it has all the features a student could need: a pen tool with various sizes, a highlighter tool, a selection tool, an eraser tool, and a large selection of colors in a palette (no color wheel, but that’s okay with me). It also has a much better zooming function that allows you to zoom in/out as much as you want (unlike Penultimate, which only has two “settings” for zooming). Notability also has an import photo function as well as a text tool (with fonts, sizes, and formatting options). The export function is also incredibly diverse (PDF, email, etc.), and it can sync with Google Drive, Dropbox, or Box. Although it cannot export select pages of notes, combined with a PDF editor such as PDF Architect, this app is perfect for me, and I’m so glad I decided to buy it. Overall rating: 5/5!

Thanks for reading! Stay tuned for more cool things! :)

1 thought on “The Only Book You’ll Ever Need to Study”

  1. This would be the proper blog if you desires to discover this topic. You realize so much its nearly difficult to argue along with you (not too When i would want…HaHa). You definitely put a different spin using a topic thats been discussed for several years. Great stuff, just excellent!

    Like

Have something to add?

