Education, Environment

“Relish: My Life in the Kitchen” by Lucy Knisley

Check out this lovely memoir I recently read! It’s formatted as a comic, which greatly appealed to me. It was humorous, witty, and I really enjoyed all the recipes presented in it!

Image

Here’s one of my favorite recipes presented in her book: classic chocolate chip cookies!

IMG_0670

Lucy Knisley loves food. The daughter of a chef and a gourmet, this talented young cartoonist comes by her obsession honestly.

In her forthright, thoughtful, and funny memoir, Lucy traces key episodes in her life thus far, framed by what she was eating at the time and lessons learned about food, cooking, and life. Each chapter is bookended with an illustrated recipe—many of them treasured family dishes, and a few of them Lucy’s original inventions.

A welcome read for anyone who ever felt more passion for a sandwich than is strictly speaking proper, Relish is a graphic novel for our time: it invites the reader to celebrate food as a connection to our bodies and a connection to the earth, rather than an enemy, a compulsion, or a consumer product.

If you’re just as interested in the importance of food as a cultural and environmental part of our lives, you should give this book a read. I borrowed it from my local library, and I’d like to buy a copy of my own someday to keep on my bookshelf!

Have something to add?

