Final Project

Update: Final Project Progress

After a lot of searching around my house for an old all-in-one printer that broke (and had salvageable scanner parts), I discovered that the printer was no longer around. (Apparently, it got thrown out ages ago!)

I did some additional online research about portable scanners and came across the Opti-Transcripticon, a small flatbed scanner that was reassembled to look like a book.

optitran_final

Eventually, I found the website of the person who made this scanner, as well as an e-mail address. I sent an e-mail asking for assistance in building one myself, but unfortunately, I got no reply. (I sent this e-mail nearly 2 weeks ago, too.)

And with that, I decided to let this idea go and look around for some inspiration for more possible project ideas.

After much thought about my current hobbies, I realized that I overlooked one big one: clay crafting! I came across a crafting trend called “decoden” some time last year, and immediately got hooked. I decorated an aluminum Nintendo DS Lite case with my clay, silicone “whipped cream,” and some coloring techniques (and beads!).

All the ice cream scoops, cookies, and wafers were hand made using FIMO Light air-dry clay, acrylic paints, chalk pastels, and Tulip Puffy Paint. The whipped cream was piped directly onto the case using a piping tip (for cakes) and a Ziploc bag. (The “whipped cream” is actually DAP Alex Plus Silicone Sealant.) The watermark on this picture is the title of my decoden blog! (More about that in another post too!)

Now, there is a lot of science behind clay crafts, such as how clay is made, how it hardens, and how it reacts with other substances (i.e. is it waterproof? does it knead well with paint?). I would like to focus on polymer clay and air-dry clay since I use these two types of clay for my own craft projects. In addition, there is a specific kind of air-dry clay that can be made at home using ingredients that can be easily found in the kitchen (and craft stores, of course), called cold porcelain. Mastering the cold porcelain recipe is a long and difficult — but rewarding — process. I have yet to figure out the right proportions and cooking time for the mixture of ingredients, so that in itself is a science!

Stay tuned for posts about synthetic clays, their chemical properties, and more about decoden!

Have something to add?

